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ILS SPORT COMMISSION TECHNICAL BULLETIN #1 
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April 12, 2016 

 

ILS Technical Bulletins are designed to assist competitors, coaches, and technical officials with rule 

clarifications and changes to the ILS Competition Rule Book.  The clarifications and/or changes are 

presented in a question and answer format and take effect from the publish date of this Bulletin. 

Line Throw 

Question:  Does the victim have to hold a designated mark on the cross bar prior to catching the line? 

(Ref. 3.13) 

Answer:   No.  As the victim is no longer required to grasp the cross bar in a designated position, the 

victim may slide their hand anywhere along the bar as long as they do not remove or release their hand 

from the bar but must be wholly within the team’s competition area.  

Question:  Where must the surplus rope go prior to the start of the event? (Ref. 3.13) 

Answer:  The surplus rope can be on either side, over or under the bar. 

Question: What is the definition of the “competition area”? (Ref. DQ54) 

Answer:  In the ILS Competition Rule Book, the “throw zone” is defined in relation to the thrower.  The 

defined competition area is the designated lane in front or behind the cross bar.  Victims may only grab 

the rope anywhere in their competition area. 

Rescue Tube 

Question:  Can competitors touch the loop of the rescue tube prior to touching the wall to complete 

their leg of the race? 

Answer:  Yes.  In principle, competitors touching the loop of the rescue tube prior to the wall are 

assumed to be adjusting the loop as required. Competitors must have donned the tube correctly at the 

start of their race and are not penalized if the loop slips or is adjusted during the race.  

 In the Medley Relay event, the fourth swimmer is not permitted to touch any part of the rescue tube, 

including the loop, until the third competitor has touched the turning wall.  

Application: 

 Medley Relay – Ref. 3.16.2 (c) 

 Manikin tow with fins – Ref. 3.11.2 (c) 

 Super Lifesaver – Ref. 3.12.2. (g) 
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Manikin Carry 

Question:  Can the manikin go past a vertical 90 degree angle when being carried? (Carrying the manikin 

- Ref.  3.3.2 (a))  

Answer:  The 90 degree angle is in reference to the lateral positioning of the manikin in relation to the 

horizontal surface of the water.  There is no competitive advantage to carrying the manikin 90 degrees 

on the vertical axis. Competitors will not be penalized for carrying the manikin greater than 90 degrees 

on the vertical axis provided the carrying the manikin requirements are met.  Refer also to the updated 

Manikin Carry and Tow Clarification Bulletin #2. 

Question: Can a competitor push the manikin at the start of a race and re-grasp the manikin as long as it 

is in the start zone? (Manikin Relay – Ref. 3.14.1 a. g. j) 

Answer:  No.  Carrying the Manikin (Ref. 3.3.2) describes the proper technique for carrying the manikin 

including keeping one hand in contact with the manikin at all times (Ref. 3.3.2 (a)).   The requirement for 

competitors to have one hand on the manikin throughout the event applies at the start of the race as 

well as in the transition zones. (Ref. 3.14.3 (f)) 

Question: Whose head must break the surface – the manikin or the competitor? (Surfacing the manikin 

– Ref. 3.3.1) 

Answer:  As the competitor and manikin are considered one unit (Ref. 3.3.1) either the manikin or the 

competitor breaks the surface, at which time, the competitor is deemed to have surfaced.  Please also 

refer to the updated Manikin Carry and Tow Clarification Bulletin #2.   

Manikin Tow 

Question: Where must the manikin be positioned by the Handler? (Manikin handler – Ref.  3.3.4)  

Answer:  The purpose of the manikin handler is to hold the manikin until the competitor has completed 

the prior portions of the race.  Handlers are to position the manikin following ref.3.3.4, at its natural 

buoyancy position.   Additional Ref. 3.11.2b; 3.12.2.c. 

Question: What part of the competitor is judged to be passing the 5 m or 10 m line?  Ref.3.16.1 (a), 

3.16.3 (g), DQ49.  Towing the manikin – Ref. 3.16.1 (a), 3.11.2 (f), 3.12.2 (i), 3.16.2 (d), 3.16.3 (g). 

Answer:  For consistency, the head of the competitor will be judged to be crossing the designated line.  

Officials are to use the head of the victim crossing the designated line for judging. 

IRB 

Question: Can inflatable PFDs/lifejackets be worn to meet the requirement for drivers, crew and 

patients? (IRB – Ref. 8.14 and 7.2.1(f)) 

Answer:  No.  Inflatable lifejackets/PFDs are not permitted for use in competition by divers, crew or 

patients.   

Question: May gloves be worn in IRB races? (IRB – Ref. 2.10(e)) 

Answer:  Yes.  Gloves may be worn, but with the exception of rescuers and victims in the IRB rescue 

tube race who are not permitted to wear gloves. 
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Competitors, coaches, and technical officials should ensure they refer to all bulletins currently posted to 

the ILS website. (http://ilsf.org/lifesaving-sport/rules)  

http://ilsf.org/lifesaving-sport/rules

